New Smoke Detector Law Going In Effect April 1st
A law passed back in June of 2015 will go into effect on April 1st this year.
The law will require all homes in New York State to have a 10 year Smoke Detector instead of one that has to have its batteries replaced.
According to the law, "all smoke detectors in New York State will be powered by a 10-year, sealed, non-removable battery or hardwired to the home. Retailers will no longer be able to sell anything other than these devices."
The American Red Cross does have a program where it gives away and installs Smoke Detectors. You can sign up for the program by clicking the button below.